Macaroni pies

20 Mar

Macaroni pies have been going around the web lately.

First, my brother sent me this link. Despite my disapproval of bacon in general, I approve of this as more Americans should be making savory pies. I admire their creativity as well. (David, how did you find this?)

Two students in the Bay Area – one of whom, Stephanie Shih, is a dessert maker – made this pie as a tribute to Paula Deen. The crust is flavored with tabasco and cheddar, and the filling is a mixture of macaroni and cheese and fried macaroni balls and topped with a lattice of bacon. I wonder how they did in the contest?

Unfortunately, I don’t think I could ever make this (even with a pastry lattice) as it might cause me what Max has just termed a “cardiac surprise”.

Image credit Stephanie Shih of Desserts for Breakfast.

Second, this macaroni pie was made by Just Jenn for Pi Day (I found it via Neatorama).

Image credit JustJenn Recipes.

I guess it would be most similar to a casserole or a mac-n-cheese bake. I’m not so keen on baked macaroni, but I guess this is a good way to make it more exciting. As Carolyn would say, though, going for the double starch.

One Response to “Macaroni pies”

  1. David March 21, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    I am a master of finding random and disturbing things on the internet. So much so that I have had to implement a “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy with my links.

Leave a Reply

